PFWA Names Their Comeback Player Of The Year For 2022

The NFL award winners will be announced over Super Bowl weekend, but in the meantime, the Pro Football Writers Association have announced their own award winners, and after Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year, they've now unveiled their Comeback Player of the Year. 

While the specifications for a 'comeback' haven't been clearly define by anyone, everyone has their own interpretation, and this years award winner leaves us with plenty of questions, as the winner is Seattle Seahawks Quarterback Geno Smith, who certainly had a career year in 2022.

Unfortunately, it's not clear exactly what he came back from, as he has been a career backup who became the full-time starter for the first time in over a decade, but with players like Saquon Barkley and Brandon Graham making major comebacks from injury, it's hard to say this makes sense, despite a fantastic year.

Photo Credit: Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports