2022 NFL Awards: Finalists Announced For Coach Of The Year

Five head coaches stood out from the rest this season.

As a result, the NFL has named these five coaches the finalists for the 2022 Coach of the Year Award:

  • Brian Daboll (New York Giants).
Daboll was hired as the head coach of the Giants last January. In his first season as head coach, Daboll led the Giants to a 9-7-1 record (3rd NFC East), leading the team to their first playoff berth since 2016. The forty-seven-year-old will certainly be back as the head coach next year, and remains one of the favorites to win the award this year.
  • Nick Sirianni (Philadelphia Eagles).
Sirianni has been the head coach of the Eagles since January of 2021 after the firing of Doug Pederson. This season, Sirianni led his team to the best record in the NFC with a 14-3 record, as the Eagles steamrolled the league during the regular season. Last season, the Eagles had a 9-8 record and barely squeaked into the playoffs, swiftly being eliminated in the Wild Card round. This year has been the exact opposite, as the Eagles are now one win away from the Super Bowl and remain one of the favorites to win. Credit must be given to the fantastic job Sirianni has done with the team given to him.
  •  Kyle Shanahan (San Francisco 49ers).
Shanahan is one of the most, if not the most, brilliant coaching minds in all of football right now. Shanahan led his 49ers to a dominant performance this season, securing the NFC West with ease with a 13-4 record. His defense also allowed the least amount of points against with a measly 277. Not only that, but he brings out the best in every single player on his team, emphasized this year with rookie QB Brock Purdy, who has shockingly found great success in his first starts as a quarterback in the NFL. Credit must be given to Shanahan for designing and adjusting his team in a way for Purdy to succeed in the shocking way that he has so far. The 49ers remain a win away from reaching the Super Bowl.
  • Sean McDermott (Buffalo Bills)
McDermott has been the head coach of the Buffalo Bills since 2017. This past season, McDermott led his Bills to a 13-3 record, good enough for first in the AFC East. McDermott is a great coach and absolutely deserves to be in the conversation for this award, but realistically he has no shot of beating out the other four coaches this year for the award.
  • Doug Pederson (Jacksonville Jaguars)
Pederson should be given a lot of credit for how he turned the Jaguars around this season. Pederson was hired to become the Jaguars' head coach in February of 2022. This past season, he led his team to a 9-8 record, going on a five-game win streak to end the season and squeak into the playoffs ahead of the Tennesee Titans. This year, QB Trevor Lawrence took tremendous strides forward and looked like a whole new player compared to last season. Credit has to be given to Pederson here for allowing Lawrence to play his style, and for also coaching him and helping him become the dominant quarterback that shocked everyone in the second half of the season. Pederson probably won't win the award this year, but you can bet that the Jaguars and Doug Pederson will certainly be back next year.

The winners will be announced at the 12th annual NFL Honors ceremony on Feb. 9, 2023.
Photo Credit: Vincent Carchietta-USA TODAY Sports